I got word from Brent that the growler was indeed Holy Mackerel Mack in Black. It was an interesting beer, the pomegranate flavor and the malt flavor were definitely fighting for dominance. I think the fruit won out though. It was decent, but I don’t know if I would order more than one at a sitting.

Brent also informed me that the Saint Somewhere beers were bottled with brett. I was torn as to whether to hold onto them or to open them. In the end, I decided to at least open one. So last night we drank the Lectio Divina. Apparently this particular batch came out a big bigger than expected, so the ABV ended up being 10.5%, instead of the 8.5% noted on the bottle. It was a great classic belgian (ratebeer says strong ale, BA says strong pale ale, but I was thinking dubbel), with perhaps a bit of an alcohol bite to it. Fruity, caramel, brown sugar, maple syrup, it was all there. Highly carbonated too. I really would love to get another on of this batch and let it cellar for a year or two. I think the brett would really start to add a nice touch, in addition to letting the carbonation and alcohol burn mellow a bit. Oh well. I’ll hold onto the Saison Athene for a little bit maybe. Yea right.

