I thought I may have mentioned this place before, but it appears as though I haven’t.  Johnny’s Hots is a little sausage stand on Columbus Blvd across from Penn Treaty Park.  Lately, I’ve been stopping by for lunch on the way to pick Madeline up from school in Fishtown.

For $3.50, you get a perfectly lunch sized sausage sandwich, and the quickest service you could possibly imagine.  Seriously, your food will come out before you’ve even finished paying.  It’s somewhere between a hot dog and a hoagie in size, which is a perfect lunch size.  You won’t be stuffed, but you won’t be hungry.  I’m a sucker for sausage, and anything hot*, so there is really no way I couldn’t love this place.  But their hot sausage is really great, and so are the rolls.

And this morning I discovered their breakfast sandwich(s).  Give me a couple more before I close the book, but after just one, I’m ready to declare it the best breakfast sandwich in the city.  Fried egg, American cheese, and a hot sausage.  Its mind-blowing.  Honestly.

*That’s what she said

