I left the Jersey shore on Sat without the wife and kids.  They are staying down for the week, while I came back for work.  I’ll be joining them on Wed night, but for 3 days, I’m living single.

And what else would I do as a single person except the two namesakes of this blog?  So yesterday I slept “in” till 8am, and promptly took a 17 mile fast loop around Fairmount Park.  I’m continually discovering new paths through it.  Its probably not new to most, but there are some really nice roads to bike on hidden within Fairmount Park, complete with climbs and skyline views.

Back at home, my equally wife-less friend Justin and I made a run to the Foodery for sixpacks and set the stage for an afternoon the likes of which I haven’t known since high school.  I started the afternoon with a Bell’s Java Stout.  Creamy and rich, and just the right amount of coffee flavor, definitely not overkill.  Then we had Sly Fox Incubus.  I’ve had this recommended to me, and it didn’t disappoint.  Smooth triple, with just enough spice and bite.  I also had a Heavy Seas Peg Leg Stout.  A Russian Imperial that was also a solid choice.  But I don’t know if I’ve ever met a RIS that I didn’t like.

The cheese selection had a hard time keeping up with the big beers, but the Dubliner from Trader Joe’s made a valiant effort.

Before I knew it, it was 7pm and we were still playing video games.  And I hadn’t even started on my homework!!

