Last night I took an after dinner bike ride up to Mt Airy to meet some old friends at McMenamin’s.  I had heard good things about this place and wanted to check it out.

The ride itself was harder than I expected.  I always forget how hilly Mt Airy is.  I fared better than Micah however, who joined me on his brakeless track bike.  12 miles in a little over an hour?  That’s not much to brag about.  But a beautiful ride nevertheless.

The bar is a great little spot on a happening little block.  I loved seeing such a wide variety of clientele, and it was packed for a Tuesday!  A remarkably different scene than I’m used to.  It brought back fond memories of the Glenside Pub (where I proposed to my wife, btw).

The beer list was a little slimmer than I had expected, but they still had some interesting options.  I started off with a Rogue Tripel, which I can’t seem to find much info about online.  There were several poorly marked items on the list, including “Maple Nut Brown.”  Our server thought that maybe the brewery was something like “Bushwackers,” which didn’t sound familar to me.  I shouldn’t have, but I ordered one anyway.  Terrible.  Maybe they had the lines crossed with the Rodenbach or something, but it tasted far too tart to be intentional.  Maybe it was dirty lines, or contamination, I don’t know, but it was really far from mapley or nutty.  I washed it down with a couple pints of Beamish.  They actually had a hand pump too, but the ESA cask had just kicked, sadly.

It seemed to be understaffed, so unfortunately the service was particularly poor this particular night.  Thankfully, after waiting for an hour for our check, my gracious friends offered me and my bike a ride home.

I hate to say bad things about a place, but the mediocre beer list, bad beer, and slow service is enough for me to not go back anytime soon.  At least its not worthy of a twilight 12 hilly mile ride on its own.

When Earth Bread and Brewery (finally) opens up, maybe I’ll give it another try.

