Having kids means early bedtimes.  For them.  Which equates to quiet nights at home, most of the time.  I don’t like to admit it often, but that also usually means television.  Other than movies, the only TV that I really watch is the Food Network and the Travel Channel.

Last night was the premiere of the new “Next Iron Chef.”  The American version of Iron Chef is probably one of my favorite shows (behind Good Eats, and of course Arrested Development).  It is without a doubt my favorite “reality TV” show.  It is in fact the only show of that type that I enjoy.  So I have a particular interest in this new search for the next Iron Chef.

Despite the nauseating drama and trappings of typical reality TV, which I tried hard to look past, it was a good show.  There was a bit of hometown pride as Jose Garces trumped the first part of the competition.  And there was even an appearance of my favorite beverage and namesake of this blog, beer, as a featured ingredient.  So here’s to hoping that Philadelphia gets another Iron Chef at the end of the season!

